" Through this documentary series, I went to meet peoples of the seas, rubbing shoulders with their knowledge, the fruit of centuries of observation and adaptation to their ecosystems, their way of pushing the limits of their horizon.

A l'instar d'a vision idealized, the peoples of the seas are part of a present where their knowledge, their cultures offer us a look and solutions on the capacity of man to live in symbiosis with his natural environment, to know, preserve and allow the reproduction of marine resources.

I remember from these 30 exceptional meetings inspirational philosophical teachings minimalist lifestyle. "

Atlantic Ocean

Brazil, The Jangadeiros: Tested by the ocean

These people built their identity around a strange boat: the jangada. A small raft about 5 meters in length capable of going more than 50 kilometers from shore by braving the biggest waves. The Jangadeiros are fishermen, but also competitors.

And also…

Brazil, the Caiçaras: Under the protection of the bay - Colombia, the Apalaanchi: Fishermen of dreams - Honduras, the Garifunas: Escapees from the Caribbean - Panama, Kunas: An archipelago in heritage - Guyana, the Kali'nas: The spirits of the delta - Guinea - Bissau, the Bijagos: The archipelago with sacred islands - Benin, the Tofins: The men of the lagoon - Mauritania, the Imraguen: The sailors of the desert

Indian Ocean

Timor, the Wawata Topu: the clan of women divers.

For a long time, the inhabitants of the island of Atauro, in the North of Timor, lived on breeding and agriculture. When the green hillsides turned into arid lands, a handful of women living in the small village of Adara had no choice but to turn to the sea to find new resources. The men, who remained on the shore, nicknamed them the “Wawata Topu”, the “fish women”. Able to hold their breath for more than two minutes, they explore the seabed harpoon in hand, looking for octopus, fish and crustaceans. In the depths of the lush and colorful lagoon, Marc discovers a ritual between women that is both necessary and emancipatory.

And also

Australia, the Bardi Jawi: Sentinels of the ocean - Indonesia, the Badjos: A life on the waves - The Philippines, the Palaweños: The balance of the Paraw - Vietnam, the Chams: A temple on the sea - Thailand, the Mokens: The last nomads - Burma, the Dawei: To the rhythm of the tides - Oman, the Kumzaris: Descendants of Sinbad - Madagascar, the Vezos: The great migration - Mozambique, the Vahocas: The Sailors of the Sands - Tanzania, the Wapemba: The shared sea - The Philippines, the Badjos: A people on the sea

Pacific Ocean

New Caledonia: Kanaks: the boatmen clan

Territory at the end of the world, the archipelago of New Caledonia is made up of five main islands, very distant from each other. Marc leaves on the Isle of Pines, to meet the Kanaks. Among all the tribes that share the territory, only one has customary knowledge of the ocean and the construction of traditional canoes: the Vao tribe. Joseph has been the master pirogue for 40 years and uses the columnar pines that cover the island to make his boats. With his son Mike, he pursues his mission and perpetuates the skills that have made the reputation of his tribe for centuries.

And also..

Colombia, the Emberas: The new people (in production) - New Caledonia, Kanaks: The pirate clan - Vanuatu, the Nivans: A self-sufficient island

soon the new conference

your questions

soon online

Peoples of the Seas a co-production Découpages & Arte

audiovisual press agency since 2006

Marc Thiercelin

contact me using this form
UP
EnglishFrench

À travers cette série documentaire, je suis allé à la rencontre des peuples des mers, me frotter à leurs connaissances, fruits de siècles d’observation et d’adaptation à leurs écosystèmes, à leur façon de repousser les limites de leur horizon.

A linstar dune vision idéalisée, les peuples des mers s'inscrivent dans un présent où leurs connaissances, leurs cultures nous offrent un regard et des solutions sur la capacité de l’homme à vivre en symbiose avec son milieu naturel, de connaître, préserver et permettre la reproduction des ressources marines.

Je retiens de ces 30 rencontres exceptionnelles des enseignements inspirants philosophiques de vie minimaliste.

Océan Atlantique

Brésil, Les Jangadeiros : À l’épreuve de l’océan

Ce peuple a construit son identité autour d’un étrange bateau : la jangada. Un petit radeau d’environ 5 mètres de longueur capable d’aller à plus de 50 kilomètres du rivage en bravant les plus grosses vagues. Les Jangadeiros sont pêcheurs, mais aussi compétiteurs.

Et aussi…

Brésil, les Caiçaras: Sous la protection de la baie - Colombie, les Apalaanchi: Pêcheurs de rêves - Honduras, les Garifunas: Les évadés des Caraïbes - Panama, les Kunas: Un archipel en héritage - Guyane, les Kali’nas: Les esprits du delta - Guinée - Bissau, les Bijagos: L’archipel aux îles sacrées - Bénin, les Tofins: Les hommes de la lagune - Mauritanie, les Imraguen: Les marins du désert

Océan Indien

Timor, les Wawata Topu: le clan des femmes plongeuses.

Pendant longtemps, les habitants de l’île d’Atauro, au Nord du Timor, ont vécu d’élevage et d’agriculture. Lorsque les versants verdoyants se sont changés en terres arides, une poignée de femmes vivant dans le petit village d’Adara n’a pas eu d’autre choix que de se tourner vers la mer pour y puiser de nouvelles ressources. Les hommes, restés sur le rivage, les ont surnommées les « Wawata Topu », les « femmes poissons ». Capables de retenir leur respiration pendant plus de deux minutes, elles explorent les fonds marins harpon en main, à la recherche de poulpes, poissons et crustacés. Dans les profondeurs du lagon luxuriant et coloré, Marc fait la découverte d’un rituel entre femmes à la fois nécessaire et émancipateur.

Et aussi

Australie, les Bardi Jawi: Les sentinelles de l’océan - Indonésie, les Badjos: Une vie sur les flots - Les Philippines, les Palaweños: L’équilibre des Paraw  - Vietnam, les Chams: Un temple sur la mer - Thaïlande, les Mokens: Les derniers nomades  - Birmanie, les Dawei: Au rythme des marées - Oman, les Kumzaris: Les descendants de Sinbad - Madagascar, les Vezos: La grande migration - Mozambique, les Vahocas: Les Marins des Sables - Tanzanie, les Wapemba: La mer en partage  - Les Philippines, les Badjos: Un peuple sur la mer

Océan Pacifique

Nouvelle Calédonie: les Kanaks: le clan des piroguiers

Territoire de bout du monde, l’archipel de Nouvelle- Calédonie est constitué de cinq îles principales, très éloignées les unes des autres. Marc part sur l’île des Pins, à la rencontre des Kanaks. Parmi toutes les tribus qui partagent le territoire, une seule possède la connaissance coutumière de l’océan et de la construction des pirogues traditionnelles : la tribu des Vao. Joseph en est le maître piroguier depuis 40 ans et se sert des pins colonnaires qui recouvrent l’île pour fabriquer ses bateaux. Avec son fils Mike, il poursuit sa mission et perpétue les savoir-faire qui font la réputation de sa tribu depuis des siècles.

Et aussi..

Colombie, les Emberas: Le nouveau peuple (en production) - Nouvelle-Calédonie, les Kanak: Le clan des piroguiers - Vanuatu, les Nivan: Une île en autarcie

bientôt la nouvelle conférence

vos questions

bientôt en ligne

Peuples des Mers une co-production Découpages & Arte

agence de presse audiovisuelle depuis 2006

Marc Thiercelin

contactez-moi en utilisant ce formulaire
HAUT
EnglishFrançais